“If you love mysteries with a lot of humor thrown in, you will love this book.” (The News in Books Review of “Mr. Monk Helps Himself”)

August 29, 2013

Natalie is the one telling the story, and she begins by talking about Mr. Monk’s famous phobias.  How can one function with so many of them?  Natalie was working as a police officer in Summit, New Jersey, but now she is back in San Francisco with Adrian Monk.  She wants to pass the test for being a private investigator so she will be able to become Monk’s partner.

There are two different cases to be solved this time.  Are they connected somehow or not?  That is something you will have to discover for yourself as you read the book.

Case #1 – A guy is killed with a meat thermometer.  That isn’t exactly your normal murder weapon, but it did the job.  Turns out the guy was a clown.  Monk’s coulrophobia presents a challenge to Natalie and the police.  This case becomes even more interesting when another victim turns up who was killed with yet another meat thermometer.  The police want Monk’s help, but he really doesn’t want to have anything to do with it.  Clowns.

Case #2 – Miranda Bigley gives life motivational lessons.  Natalie is attending one of her outdoor lectures and witnesses Miranda’s apparent suicide when she walks off the edge of a cliff.  Monk is with Natalie, but he unfortunately wasn’t watching.  Natalie suspects this to be murder, but Monk refuses to help her.

Natalie has her work cut out for her.  Not only does she have to convince Monk to help the police with the case of the clown who has been murdered, but she has to make him believe that the supposed suicide of the woman she took motivational lessons from was murder even though she had walked off of a cliff in front of many witnesses.

This is truly an enjoyable read.  You get all of the laughs from Monk’s unique ways plus he now has a girlfriend, Ellen.  She owns a store named Poop.  Just the name of the store is a source of contention between them.  You can probably figure out why.

Love a good mystery?  Along with the humor, there are crimes to be solved.  So, how good were the mysteries?  Well, I did not figure out what really happened completely.  I guessed a bit of it, but not the complete reason behind it all.  How it all wrapped up was still a total surprise for me.

If you are a fan of Monk, this book is for you.  If you love mysteries with a lot of humor thrown in, you will love this book.  If you sing It’s a Jungle Out There while cleaning your house, then you probably desperately need a copy of this book.  A copy of Mr. Monk Helps Himself was sent to me free in exchange for an honest review.  If you would like a copy of this book for your own enjoyment, I have provided an Amazon link below.